The Otissito Review

World Fantasy Award for Best Novel

Year Title Author Read
2016 The Chimes Anna Smaill
2015 The Bone Clocks David Mitchell
2014 A Stranger in Olondria Sofia Samatar
2013 Alif the Unseen G. Willow Wilson
2012 Osama Lavie Tidhar
2011 Who Fears Death Nnedi Okorafor
2010 The City & the City China Miéville
2009 The Shadow Year Jeffrey Ford
2009 Tender Morsels Margo Lanagan
2008 Ysabel Guy Gavriel Kay
2007 Soldier of Sidon Gene Wolfe
2006 Kafka on the Shore Haruki Murakami
2005 Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norell Susanna Clarke
2004 Tooth and Claw Jo Walton
2003 The Facts of Life Graham Joyce
2003 Ombria in Shadow Patricia A. McKillip
2002 The Other Wind Ursula K. Le Guin
2001 Declare Tim Powers
2001 Galveston Sean Stewart
2000 Thraxas Martin Scott
1999 The Antelope Wife Louise Erdrich
1998 The Physiognomy Jeffrey Ford
1997 Godmother Night Rachel Pollack
1996 The Prestige Christopher Priest
1995 Towing Jehovah James K. Morrow
1994 Glimpses Lewis Shiner
1993 Last Call Tim Powers
1992 Boy’s Life Robert R. McCammon
1991 Only Begotten Daughter James K. Morrow
1991 Thomas the Rhymer Ellen Kushner
1990 Madouc Jack Vance
1989 Koko Peter Straub
1988 Replay Ken Grimwood
1987 Perfume Patrick Suskind
1986 Song of Kali Dan Simmons
1985 Bridge of Birds Barry Hughart
1985 Mythago Wood Robert Holdstock
1984 The Dragon Waiting John M. Ford
1983 Nifft the Lean Michael Shea
1982 Little, Big John Crowley
1981 The Shadow of the Torturer Gene Wolfe
1980 Watchtower Elizabeth A. Lynn
1979 Gloriana Michael Moorcock
1978 Our Lady of Darkness Fritz Leiber
1977 Doctor Rat William Kotzwinkle
1976 Bid Time Return Richard Matheson
1975 The Forgotten Beasts of Eld Particia A. McKillip