The Otissito Review

Hugo Award for Best Novel

Year Title Author Read
2016 The Fifth Season N.K. Jemisin
2015 The Three-Body Problem Cixin Liu
2014 Ancillary Justice Ann Leckie
2013 Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas John Scalzi
2012 Among Others Jo Walton
2011 Blackout / All Clear Connie Willis
2010 The Windup Girl Paolo Bacigalupi
2010 The City & the City China Miéville
2009 The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman
2008 The Yiddish Policemen’s Union Michael Chabon
2007 Rainbows End Vernor Vinge
2006 Spin Robert Charles Wilson
2005 Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell Susanna Clarke
2004 Paladin of Souls Lois McMaster Bujold
2003 Hominids Robert J. Sawyer
2002 American Gods Neil Gaiman
2001 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire J.K. Rowling
2000 A Deepness in the Sky Vernor Vinge
1999 To Say Nothing of the Dog Connie Willis
1998 Forever Peace Joe Haldeman
1997 Blue Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1996 The Diamond Age Neal Stephenson
1995 Mirror Dance Lois McMaster Bujold
1994 Green Mars Kim Stanley Robinson
1993 A Fire Upon the Deep Vernor Vinge
1993 Doomsday Book Connie Willis
1992 Barrayar Lois McMaster Bujold
1991 The Vor Game Lois McMaster Bujold
1990 Hyperion Dan Simmons
1989 Cyteen C.J. Cherryh
1988 The Uplift War David Brin
1987 Speaker for the Dead Orson Scott Card
1986 Ender’s Game Orson Scott Card
1985 Neuromancer William Gibson
1984 Startide Rising David Brin
1983 Foundation’s Edge Isaac Asimov
1982 Downbelow Station C.J. Cherryh
1981 The Snow Queen Joan D. Vinge
1980 The Foundations of Paradise Arthur C. Clarke
1979 Dreamsnake Vonda N. McIntyre
1978 Gateway Frederik Pohl
1977 Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang Kate Wilhelm
1976 The Forever War Joe Haldeman
1975 The Dispossessed Ursula K. Le Guin
1974 Rendezvous with Rama Arthur C. Clarke
1973 The Gods Themselves Isaac Asimov
1972 To Your Scattered Bodies Go Philip José Farmer
1971 Ringworld Larry Niven
1970 The Left Hand of Darkness Ursula K. Le Guin
1969 Stand on Zanzibar John Brunner
1968 Lord of Light Roger Zelazny
1967 The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress Robert A. Heinlein
1966 Dune Frank Herbert
1966 …And Call Me Conrad [This Immortal] Roger Zelazny
1965 The Wanderer Fritz Leiber
1964 Here Gather the Stars [Way Station] Clifford D. Simak
1963 The Man in the High Castle Philip K. Dick
1962 Stranger in a Strange Land Robert A. Heinlein
1961 A Canticle for Leibowitz Walter M. Miller, Jr.
1960 Starship Troopers Robert A. Heinlein
1959 A Case of Conscience James Blish
1958 The Big Time Fritz Leiber
1956 Double Star Robert A. Heinlein
1955 They’d Rather Be Right [The Forever Machine] Mark Clifton / Frank Riley
1953 The Demolished Man Alfred Bester